Where are the people going?

June 1, 2011

Maybe it’s just me, or it’s just the effects of technological trends, or it’s the race of genetically modified corn husks that are taking over the world, but has anybody noticed that the number of members on WordPress has been steadily decreasing? In the past week I believe I’ve seen nearly 5,000 people leave the site. (I am seeing this on the homepage, when you first sign in). Since I love participating in reckless speculation as well as sorry excuses for my past mistakes, allow me to elaborate on the causes of depopulation in the blogosphere.

Let me tell you why it could just be me:

I have only been on here for a couple of weeks. It’s possible that I’m just seeing something very commonplace here and I have no previous experience to base it on. Maybe the “population” of bloggers on the site ebbs and flows, just like any other real biological population. There are down periods and there are up periods. Knowing that WordPress is one of the more popular blog sites, I expect the numbers to trend around the same area, with some sporadic dips and rises from time to time.

That’s one reasonable explanation….

Let me tell you why it could be due to technological trends:

Blogging may be dying. I’m not sure if it will actually die so much as it will just wain until something similar (and likely better) will replace it. Maybe more and more people will commit their blogs to a more vlog format. This may be happening now and I just don’t see it’s big effects quite yet. Also, Twitter may be responsible because it allows people to enjoy the benefits of social networking as well as creating short written content (kind of like a really tiny blog). Less work + Ease of use = Big satisfaction.

That explanation is logical as well…but

Let me tell you why IT IS the mutated corn husks:

It’s my fault. I let them out. They overran me. I just thought they looked so friendly and all cooped up in those cages. I guess I just have a thing for illegally modified food products stuck in cages.

One of them even screamed obscenities into my ear as they trampled over me. It was awful. Not the obscenities, I can’t speak Cornish, but the trampling. You wouldn’t believe the number of very small scratches I have all over my face. Not to mention, I might lose my janitorial position at Aperture Laboratories for my boo-boo.

I’m not sure what they want, again the language barrier is there, but I know they do not like bloggers that do only movie reviews. When they made it to the city, they bought out all the seats in the movie theaters that they could find. I’m still not sure why did this, or how they got the money, but that seems to be the first part of their plan. Then they found out where they (the bloggers) all live and just filled their homes and apartments with their fellow husk-folk. People can’t move in there. They’re probably getting cuts as well.

Last I heard they were going to buy ad space on major search engines. I can’t imagine what they’re going to do with it.

Anyway, I’m sure it’ll just blow over. Just in case though, I wouldn’t go out past sundown. They can sneak up on you pretty quick.

So, sorry for the Corn Husk thing, it may have ruined WordPress.

D.A.

One Response to “Where are the people going?”


  1. You’re the one! I can’t believe you’d do such a thing! How could you be so reckless?! You’re ruining my life!


Leave a Reply

