Best Story Ever?

June 4, 2011

How’s this for an awesome short story title?

Hula of the Dead

Pretty sick. I know.

Just imagine a Hawaiian zombie story that also talks about the social economic class problems of society as a whole. There will be a love triangle between the tough-as-nails male protagonist, the pretty but skeptical female protagonist, and the female zombie overlord of the islands known as “Marla”. The zombies will be super fast and have pineapples for hands. Not to mention, there has to be a cameo by none other than robot narwhals that spray lava from the tips of their horns.

Edit: This story takes place in the future and the islands of Hawaii have been moved into space. So, Space Zombie Hawaiian Thriller Romance. With space narwhals that are also robotic and spray lava…

Will that be the name and plot of my newest short story? Will I then become the most popular author on the internet and beyond? Will I finally bring our nation together with an allegory that speaks of the troubles of the middle class and how it is slipping away into obscurity? Will I win the Pulitzer? Will I finally have a dream realized when I am able to sell my own line of BBQ sauce nationwide?!?!

No.

No it will not. And no I will not. But a boy can dream…

My next short story will be called When I Grow Up. It going to be about a little girl who is a master thief and an excellent guerrilla warfare tactician. People are trying to get her and the thing she stole, little do they know, she considers this fun. I’m not sure how this one’s going to come out, but I’m going to give it the old college try…

Edit: Really. That’s the actual main character of my story. I realize my “real” story isn’t much of a stretch from the “fake” story synopsis about zombies I just made above. Maybe I should consider writing Hula of the Dead after all.

Onwards.

I’m going to try to focus on a few things on this story. I’m telling you about it because I would like to know how I’m doing on meeting the goals I specify in this post.

Character(s) Speaking / Conversation:

I would like the story to have 4 characters. This will give me two or three opportunities for conversation. There might even be a conversation that has 3 speakers. This is something I’ve never accomplished. So I should try to attempt it at some point, and now is as good of a time as any.

Character Perspective

This is a biggie. I will be writing  this story from the little girl’s perspective. So I will try to emphasize her own inner thoughts as well as her views of what is going on in the story that involves other characters. This is limited. I am going to try and remember this, even though, as a writer, I know already know what’s going on in everybody’s own mind. I know their motivations but you don’t. I hope I can still make the conflict clear, but I would like to make sure that I’m making it clear for HER perspective.

Time

By time, I am referring to the time it takes for me to complete the work. This includes planning, writing, and editing. This usually takes me a very long time, but I would like to make sure it’s done in less than 5 hours. Since I’m not actually setting a limit for the length of this story this time issue may not be a good idea. Either way, I’m not going to kill myself if I don’t meet a goal of 5 hours. As long as I am working and not spending time making very small decisions on the story, I will be happy.

So that’s that. If you read my story (which should be published tomorrow) and you like it, let me know. If you don’t like it, let me know, and I’ll start a small fire in your neighbor’s backyard and blame it on you. If you think I’m accomplishing the goals I set in this post, then let me know. Your feedback is going to be immensely important to my writing development.

Thanks,

D.A.

One Response to “Best Story Ever?”

  1. goldfish Says:

    I like the pineapple-handed zombie idea. Pullitzers are overrated anyway.


Leave a Reply

