Informing You of My Hopeless Reading List

July 16, 2011

I love to read. But I’ll admit, sometimes, my eyes are bigger than what my reading pallet can handle. Sometimes, I end up in a book store and end up buying one or two books. (But only if they’re really good deals, honest). This only adds to the already too big of a backlog or reading material. Not to mention, I try to read all the blogs and comics that I subscribe to.

I recently organized my book collection to reflect my list of reading material. Since I’ve graduated from college I decided that I should be able to read more freely (Hah!). So, I’ve accumulated a number of books that I just can’t wait to get in to. Yet, even though I am enthusiastic, I’m clearly very lazy. I have barely made any progress whatsoever.

This is that list: (anything crossed out has been read, but is on there to show what I have accomplished since Christmas, not much)

  1. Return of the King (in progress)
  2. The Windup Girl (in progress)
  3. Heir to the Empire (in progress)
  4. Heaven is for Real 
  5. No Less Than Victory
  6. Dune
  7. The God Engines
  8. Boneshaker
  9. Leviathan
  10. The Yiddish Policemen’s Union
  11. The Andromeda Strain
  12. Forever Peace
  13. Love and Honor
  14. Crystal Rain
  15. Behemoth
  16. The Forever War
  17. The Fabulous Riverboat
  18. The Truce at Bakura
  19. The Last Command
  20. Dark Force Rising
  21. Little Fuzzy
  22. Plus 15 other books that I don’t own but want to

Hmm…

That’s a pretty big list. I didn’t think it was that long.

Ugh…

Anyway, my goal is to get rid of the books in progress, and then start reading one book at a time. Slow but steady. I don’t want to get any hang ups, so I’ll just make sure it’s one story at a time. I think I read faster this way anyway. I’ve never really liked reading multiple stories at one, but yet I still do it.

If I really dig in, I’m sure the entire list can be done before October. And some of these books are part of a series, so maybe I’ll read the first one, and say, “that story just wasn’t good, I’ll move on.” The best way I can think of “digging in” is to try and read around and hour or two a day. No more late nights on the internet (even if it is wildly entertaining).

Well, it looks like I’ve got quite a bit of work ahead of me.

So what are you reading, Stranger?

After I see this new Happy Potter movie tonight, I’m going to begin the arduous progress of finishing off these already started books.

So, away on my broom I go,

D.A.

 

3 Responses to “Informing You of My Hopeless Reading List”

  1. joem18b Says:

    i had a list but it started to bug me so i got rid of it. now i just google something like “great science fiction books” and see what titles come up.

    Recently finished “Sailing Bright Eternity” and “Snow Crash.”


  2. LEVIATHAN and WINDUP GIRL are both on my list and on my shelf! I’ve been meaning to read them for months, but probably won’t truly prioritize them for at least a year :( Oh well. I’ve already read RETURN OF THE KING, so ha!

    I win?


Leave a Reply

