The Results Are In…

July 23, 2011

Well…

I took my test today. And yes, the results are in, but that doesn’t mean I’m just going to tell you what they are. That wouldn’t be any fun. You’re going to have to read this post in order to know the outcome. (That is, if I even let you know at all.)

Now let me tell you something about tests.

I hate them.

You know why? Because I’m really good at getting nervous.

It’s a special ability I have managed to inherit/develop in my life. I can even manage to get worried about things that are completely out of my control, despite my best efforts for trying otherwise. It’s on par with being at a level that may qualify me to become a superhero. Or, rather, a super lame superhero.

The test that I took today was called Middle Grades General Science 5 – 9. A deceptive title. This isn’t a test that only covers middle school science topics. It’s not written to be taken my 7th graders. It’s made for grown-ups who are supposed to pretend that they know everything about everything. And everything is just about right. This test covers some of the basic principles and definitions for everything I’ve ever learned in science in my entire life. Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Astronomy, Geology, and Student Safety are all possibilities for questions.

Have I mentioned that I’m not very good at chemistry?

:::Rodney Dangerfield voice:::

Ask the last girl I dated.

(Que the rim shot)

Get it? Chemistry? Dating? Ugh, nevermind.

Rodney would be proud though. 

Seriously folks, I’m not very knowledgeable in the field of chemistry. As a matter of fact, I have somehow managed to graduate while not taking Biochemistry, Organic Chemistry, and any course above Chemistry II. The only class in high school that I got a C in was Chemistry. And I only got the C because I opted out of taking a final exam and did a research project. That might have saved my grade from a D – to a C -.

Physics is something I really enjoy, and can do it, but just not very well. This is one of the reasons why my degree specialized in biology. It just makes more sense to me. It’s fun. It’s relateable. (So is physics to an extent, but some physics is just really hard to understand.) Not to mention, I’m not very fond of doing math.

(Now I’m starting to sound like somebody who doesn’t like anything. Sorry about that, I guess I’m still a little frazzled about the whole experience)

Yes, yes, I know the value of chemistry and physics. Both are pivotal in modern understandings of what science is. I’m in a clear mind when I see how they can both value themselves as the “central science”. And I can safely say that I see the relation between the two, as well as how they both interact with biology. But that doesn’t mean I have to know everything about them…

Unless I want to get hired.

Which I do.

Then I guess I need to know quite a bit more than I planned. Even compared to three months ago, I didn’t think I would have had to take this test.

So, after 72 hours of studying and stressing out, I took the test. It started off with mostly chemistry and then lead on to a lot of physics. Some geology was thrown in there and a sprinkling of biology. But not too much else. That made me really nervous when I was taking it. Two of the weaker areas of my knowledge base were being tested and hardly any of my strengths. I would have been happier if there would have been some random history or geography thrown in there…maybe that would have helped.

I reviewed my answers three times. I took deep breaths in order to calm down. I came back and changed answers that I was uneasy about. And when I turned it in I knew I gave it my best shot. I felt good for trying. Even if it did cost $200 to take.

Then the nice lady behind the desk handed me the results of the test. I was anxious. I don’t even think I was breathing when I turned it -over. And then it said-

But is that really the point of all this? Why does the point have to be, did I pass or fail? Maybe I gained a lot of information about myself and my knowledge base while I was studying. I could have just walked down a little path of self improvement and it only cost me a little money. Maybe I’ll say to myself, “D.A., you can do better than this. Try again.”

You know, a person who commented on my last post mentioned that I should just consider it a good thing either way. If I pass, then I get to walk forward into my career. If I fail, then It’s nothing more than a temporary delay. A learning experience either way…right?

And I totally agree with them. I hope you do too.

So maybe I’ll just not tell you. But I’m sure you’ll find out somehow.

Thanks for reading from the guy who is Supersmartandpassedthetestlikeaboss,

D.A.

4 Responses to “The Results Are In…”


  1. Congratulations!!

  2. Frank Bishop Says:

    Oh sneaky, i see what you did there.


  3. I need to take a Biology class. I managed to graduate from high school and college without ever taking Bio or Chem. That is an accomplishment, eh?

    Congrats! on life and whatnot :)


Leave a Reply

