Leader for the Day

August 30, 2011

Remember this?

When you were in kindergarten or 1st grade your teacher would award the “best student” of the day and they would become class leader?

Was my school the only one that did this?

So you would get caught doing something cool or nice during the week. Your teacher would walk up to you and say something to the effect of, “Wow, good job Douglas! You put the toys away very nicely.” or “Douglas, that was very nice of you to let Sarah borrow your crayons during that lesson.” Then you would get a gold star or something next to your name.

Then on Friday you became Class Leader. You get to walk in the front of the line when you go to P.E or lunch. It means you get to sit at the head of the  table with the teacher. First dibs on certain toys during play time. You might even get to take a nap on the non-sticky nap pad. (That means it’s the mat that Timmy didn’t pee on yet. You know you remember that kid…)

If you were super lucky, the teacher would buy you a Slush Puppie at lunch too. Oh how your cherry syrup stained lips would glimmer at the other kids. They would be so jealous.

Just in case you don't know what a Slush Puppie is, here is it's illegally obtained brand logo for your pleasure.

Yeah, this who thing. Leader for the day. That’s what yesterday felt like on WordPress.

Apparantly I had my last post became “Freshly Pressed.”

I mean, I think it’s really cool and all that, but let’s be honest, I only get to be leader for the day. It’s not like I get the spot on the front page for a whole year. So, I’m just taking the moment to say this:

ATTENTION ALL OF YOU WHO ARE NEW TO THIS BLOG!

I currently have a goal of trying to put a marble in each country on the planet. Yes, I’m serious. I currently have marbles in Canada and the United States…Yes, I know that’s not impressive but all things have to start somewhere.

But if you just send me an email with your address I will be happy to send you a marble. Then you can have it to keep and hold forever and ever.

If you would like more information please read one of my previous posts on the topic.

Now for those of you who have already known me for a while…

I bet you’re wondering if my newfound fame is going to get to my tiny brain.

In short, yes. Yes it is. I’ve just decided it would be worth it because this could be my 15 minutes of fame.

As a matter of fact, half an hour after I found out about this whole thing, I hired an agent. He’s pretty mean, but he gets the job done.

For example:

I already have a movie deal in place where I’m starring opposite Seth Rogen in a buddy cop movie.

I have even started working with Kanye West on a new album. It’s pretty tight yo.

I’ve also updated my wardrobe to only being made by Armani. It’s just how I roll now.

Like I mentioned earlier, I’m leader for the day now…I can do whatever I want.

I hope you’re not still staring at my wonderfully red lips because I’ve been drinking a delicious Slush Puppie.

Making loud slurps in your direction,

D.A.

5 Responses to “Leader for the Day”


  1. Good for you. Being a leader for a day helps you feel confident and the confidence is what helps you become a leader for a week, a month, and then maybe a year. Enjoy, and good luck. :)

  2. goldfish Says:

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! I’ve been FP’d too. I wasn’t all that fond of the spotlight; it was a lot of pressure. I prefer sitting in the back of the class doodling.

    I wrote about my own experience here: http://fishofgold.wordpress.com/2011/02/04/freshly-pressed/

    Anyway, good job. It’s about time you got the recognition you richly deserve (or not).


    • Whether or not I deserved the whole nod from WordPress is a moot issue.

      The fact of the matter is the whole “blog-celebrity complex” has taken over my mind. In response to this I decided to buy a Lamborghini or two.

      Okay, you’re right. It was more like a garage full of Lamborghinis. I’ve also demanded my butler to have caviar stuffed in the trunks. Oh, and I’ve spent a lot of money on a real version of Johnny 5 from the movie Short Circuit.

      I think I’m handling it pretty well.

      (But in all honesty, thank you for the congrats, it means a lot coming from a writer I admire.)

      • goldfish Says:

        The fame doesn’t seem to have gone to your head at all. When I was Freshly Pressed, I spent the prize money on a robot that shoots fire, but it never worked correctly. I can only get it to move OR shoot fire, never both at once. It just sits in my garage under a tarp now. Lamborghinis are a much more practical purchase.

        And you obviously are using a different definition for “admire” than the rest of us. :P


Leave a Reply

