I’m Just Going To Warn You

September 5, 2011

Now that I’ve been working like a big boy for a few weeks I come to realize something.

Vacations are really really nice.

No, I haven’t taken one. But this long weekend was just so darn wonderful that I wish I had more time to do just this. Not only is it nice to have a whole extra day off, but it’s also really nice to have a short work week coming up.

So what is that thing that I love to do when I get free time?

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

It just feels good to not get anything done.

So I think I’ve been making a few plans in my head to help me plan a good summer vacation. Yes I know that Labor Day is generally considered the last day of summer vacations, but I guess it’s never too early to start planning.

I’m contemplating making a trip to Comic Con in San Diego. I have a cousin who recently asked me if I would be interested in going with her. She went this past year and said it was incredible (minus the long hours waiting in line to see a cool panel). I said I would be interested.

Would it be expensive? Yeah, a little, but the benefit is that there would be no charge for staying in a hotel. I have family over there and they live very close to the area.

So that could be happening.

Also, I spoke with my grandmother that lives in Missouri. She asked if I would be coming up any time soon. I said that could totally happen. So why not? Why couldn’t it happen? Hey, I could even go there after I go to Comic Con.

Yeah it would be a long trip. But I mean, it’s going to be the summer. Why not? Right? I would rather get tired of traveling and doing fun things than worrying about grades and lesson plans.

So that could be happening as well.

But if I ended up not going anywhere or doing anything, I would be totally fine with that too. Just the idea of kicking my heels up on the coffee table and vegging out for a few hours seems like it would be a great thing. And keep in mind, making sure that I didn’t have any lesson plans or grades to worry about would be a delight.

Now you’re probably wondering about the title to this post. My warning is that I could end up making plans and then not following through with them. Case in point, my reading list and lamp project are dead in the water. Maybe I could reassess my goals and finish those one day, but for now, they are relics of my past.

Now I’m making plans for next summer, but I’m not really free to make any of those plans. I may not even have a job after next summer. So what if I need to spend the summer looking for a new job?

Hey, for now, I’m just going to try to survive the weeks as they come. After that, I’ll have a better idea of what I am and what I’m dealing with.

So what about you? Do you already have plans for next summer?

D.A.

4 Responses to “I’m Just Going To Warn You”


  1. Wait, Labor Day is the end of summer vacation? I guess I knew that but it never really clicked. God, I feel kind of depressed about that! Then again, Pumpkin Spice Lattes are back so…that’s a plus.
    Anyways, I make a ton of plans that are going to be amazing and fun and awesome and life-enriching and never follow through with any of them. I should probably just stop making plans so I don’t get that sense of failure when I don’t do any of them.
    Comic Con is a lot of fun — insanely, insanely crowded, but fun. It sells out fast though, just to warn you. I’ve gone a couple times. It’s always an interesting experience.
    And regarding the gloriousness of doing nothing – it can also be fun to do nothing in a new place. So, for example, if you did end up in Missouri, you could kick up your heels there and take it all in at a lazy pace. Just sayin’. Laziness and unproductiveness are skills that can be honed nearly anywhere.


    • That’s right…no more summer vacation.

      Also, you can’t wear white for the rest of the year… Don’t quite understand that one…but whatever.

      If you are looking forward to pumpkin spice lattes then I will say I’m looking forward to pumpkin pie. Why not just have the best thing ever?

      And you make a good point about the whole kicking my heels up issue. I can really do that anywhere…and if I kick my heels up on a new coffee table on somebody else’s house, then more power to me.


  2. Some friends and I are thinking of going to ComiCon too.

    Scary Idea… We could totally meet in real life if we both go. :)


    • Scary indeed. I guess you would learn of my secret identity.

      I suppose now is the time when I reveal that I’m actually a very well educated hippo. I’m not sure how I know how to type…but I’m a hippo.

      Not a human. Totally a hippo.


Leave a Reply

