It’s WHAT?!?!

October 2, 2011

Apparently it’s Sunday.

This is the day that follows Saturday. It is also 4th day that follows Wednesday. Wednesday was the day of my last post.

Whatever happened to me working on this blog? Actually trying to get better at writing…?

Oh, that’s right, I’ve been pre-occupied trying to do all these things:

  • Learning material I have to teach.
  • Delivering material I have to teach.
  • Learning how to teach the material I have to teach
  • Grading papers
  • Writing referrals
  • Making up labs
  • Buy class material when I need them
  • Worry about parents yelling at me
  • Putting grades online
  • Submitting lesson plans
  • Making arrangements for my observation for my teacher evaluations
  • Stress out about my teach evaluations
  • Doing attendance in hindsight because I can’t remember to do it during class
  • Taking away student’s cell phones
  • Wonder if I need to start carrying a baseball bat in my classroom just like Casey Jones.
  • Trying to stay on schedule
  • Turn in any forms I am supposed to turn in during the week
  • Make myself lunch and dinner (Ramen Noodles)
  • Wonder where my time for fun went
  • Find my time for fun laying in a gutter, bleeding, crying, like it had been beaten within an inch of it’s life by Mr. Casey Jones.
  • Get angry at the Florida Gators for losing a game in such a way that they did
  • Help people move into new apartments as they move on with their life
  • Eat bowls of Ramen Noodles as I don’t move on with my life
  • Look at my friends who have happy and loving relationships with people they are going to marry
  • Look deeper into my bowl of Ramen Noodles looking for solutions to the problem…
Things suspiciously absent from my list:
  • Sleeping
  • Having coherent thoughts
  • Peace of mind
  • Enjoyment from students learning new material
  • Good test grades
  • Writing
  • No pain in my feet
Anyway, what I guess I’m trying to say is that I’ve been a little busy, and time seems to fly when you’re busy.
So here is my new goal. To make sure I post at least 4 times this week. That will run from today (Sunday) and will not include this post.
This is now my excuse to write: “Oh, I have to post something online tonight. I made a promise to potentially 3 billion readers. I can’t let them down.” Yes, that isn’t a very good one, but it is at least one.
Now, keep in mind, I have been writing, but not very much, and not for this blog. I started a really cruddy story that I plan on writing into something with a purpose and a real direction. So maybe by the end of this week I will have finished writing/working on this story.
I’m making no promises on how good the story will be, but remember, the goal is just to write. It’s okay if it’s a turd. As long as it’s my turd made from my own effort and time then I will consider it a victory.
In a weather related note I should mention that Florida finally had Fall arrive. It is currently 75 degrees outside for the first time in about 9 months. So, at least I’ve got that going for me.
Alright, I’ll be back… You just keep checking to make sure I do come back. And if I don’t send a group of mercenaries to hunt down and kill my captors. This is because the only reason I would not come back in time for a new post would be due to my being taken hostage and held for a very high (or sadly low) ransom.
D.A.
2 Responses to “It’s WHAT?!?!”


  1. I prefer the Casey Cricket bat over the baseball bat :)

  2. Frank Bishop Says:

    Ms. Leigh’s nerd cred just shot through the roof.

    I hear ya with the busy stuff. I have neglected my blog for a week now, but too much is going on. It’ll be there when I get a chance, just as yours will.

    Do your stuff, I’ll wait.


Leave a Reply

