So I actually read a book

October 3, 2011

Yeah, it’s been some time…but I finished reading a book today. I did it in homeroom during our mandatory “Must read throughout homeroom” policy. Am I complaining? No chance. I look forward to homeroom every day. I can read…and get paid for it. Pretty sweet deal if you ask me. Even if it is only for 30 minuets.

The book I read? On Writing of course. Took me about two weeks I think. And that’s only me reading it during our 30 minute blocks at school. It’s also hard to read when you’re constantly trying to play the role of reading nazi in a class of a room full of 11th graders.

Lousy kids… not wanting to read… What’s wrong with them anyway?

How was it you ask?

Flipping fantastic. I will be sure to read it again. Which is saying a lot coming from a guy like me. There are only a few books that I have read multiple times. They are:

  • Go Eat Worms by R.L. Stein
  • Monster Blood; Monster Blood IIMonster Blood III; and (of course) Monster Blood IV by R.L. Stein
  • Matilda by Ronal Dahl
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • The Fall of Reach by Eric Nylund
  • Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • Shadows of the Empire by Timothy Zahn
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
Yeah, that’s every book I’ve ever read more than once. Yeah there are some strange ones in there. For some reason I love cheesy Halo books. Also, for some reason, I have read and reread the first of the Little House of the Prairie series… Don’t you worry, my masculinity is still in place. I think…
So what do I plan on reading next?
The Windup Girl again… because I still haven’t finished it. I’m going to give it one more real go before I give up. I hope I’m not too far removed from the story to remember important details. And hey, if I am, I will soon find out and will just give up on reading it. That’s alright. I can always try again some time down the road.
Anyway.
There you go. My short and nearly pointless post for the night.

 

2 Responses to “So I actually read a book”

  1. Frank Bishop Says:

    Windup Girl picks up a little over half way. Things start to come together and then it goes fast.

    Dude, I read 2-3 books a week. Do you want some suggestions?


    • Well, I’m a slow reader. So whatever you recommend would be considered quite highly, but there is no promise of what I will actually end up reading.

      Just in case you were suggesting any of these titles, don’t, because they are on my “to read” list already:
      Dune
      The Iliad / The Odyssey
      Sphere
      The Yiddish Policemen’s Union
      The Gunslinger
      The Truce at Bakura
      The Moon is a Harsh Mistress
      Rising Sun
      The Andromeda Strain
      Forever Peace
      Little Fuzzy
      Crystal Rain
      No Less than Victory
      The God Engines
      The City at the End of Time

      Or you could just read those books for me and in a few weeks provide me the footnotes. That would be a big help. But suggest away. Anything you’re super crazy about I will give ample consideration to adding in the que, or possibly allowing that to jump to the front of the line.


Leave a Reply

