Safety Net

January 4, 2012

This post was made in the event that I didn’t wake up after I got home from work today. 

Assume I am still alive and that I still have a job. Also assume I will not become Rip Van Winkle. Though I wish I would become Rob Van Winkle… even if for a day.

(If you don’t know who this is, do a quick Google search to discover this person’s identify. Prepare to be surprised. Then prepare to agree with me. You know you wish you were him, if even for a day. Especially in 1992.)

So this safety net post will draw attention to something that I found a little surprising.

If you post here on WordPress, you will have noticed some of the nice little things that they have done for the holiday season. You may have also noticed the change in the “challenges” you get after you post new content. They set goals for you to post so many times and then you reach a goal.

I’m not opposed to the gesture. It gives the idea of putting out new posts a little bit of a competitive edge. And I’m sure that could be useful in motivating you (or myself) in putting up good stuff now and then.

But I have one qualm.

If you challenge me, I demand rewards. I want my page to become golden dipped for a whole day if I have a streak of 20 posts with no days missing. Yes, that would suit me.

I also want badges. Achievements that would allow me to unlock new fonts and symbols. Maybe even a ranking among all the others in this blogosphere. Yes….

Oh no, I realized I am proposing something stupid.

I want Call of Duty to team up with WordPress.

Maybe it’ll be called Call of Duty: Blogpocalypse. Or Call of Duty: Type, Type, Boom!. Possibly Call of Duty: Social Media War.

Okay, maybe it’s not THAT bad of an idea…

D.A.

2 Responses to “Safety Net”

  1. edrevets Says:

    I agree. What’s the point of having a goal if:

    a. I didn’t set it for myself and
    b. There’s no difference post and pre-goal.

    WordPress needs more cutthroat competition. There should be ways to steal other people’s badges, etc.

    Let’s make this place the bloodbath it was always meant to be.


Leave a Reply

