Irked and Purple Hair

January 17, 2012

I’m not sure if that’s a word that is being used properly, but that’s the feeling I’ve been having lately.

As a matter of fact, I tried writing about this the day after this whole thing occurred. I wrote a whole (poorly written) post about it and let it sit in my queue for over a week. I couldn’t even bring myself to post about anything else because this has bugged me this much.

Since I have a blog that is written in anonymity why don’t I go ahead a say things that would typically embarrass me?

I was in a wedding like…3 weeks ago? Something like that.

Then I attended a wedding a week after that.

In order to make a very long and painfully awkward family bugging me story out of it, let me recap the main points. Hey, I’ll even use bullets and put it in list form for your added convenience.

  • I attended a wedding some 2 weeks ago.
  • Girl was at wedding alone
  • She had purple hair
  • I was at wedding alone
  • I did not have purple hair
  • 50% of my extended family and 100% of my nuclear family thought I should “Go talk to her.”
  • They also recommended I “Ask her to dance.”
  • I was told she was “cute and bored”
  • ***Main Point*** I was not amused nor appealed by their suggestions, and blatantly refused to do such a thing.
  • Went home kind of angry.

Why, D.A., were you sort of angry?

Well, I was kind of upset with everybody looking at me and taking on this particular attitude. The attitude is something along the lines of  “Hey, you better get a girlfriend soon or you’ll die alone and smelling of old wet shoes.”

But the main source of my anger was myself.

Who do I really think I am? I outright refused to go speak to another human being. What fear was binding me to my seat? What did I have to lose?

Forget everybody’s opinion, what makes me think I’m so great that I won’t bother meeting a new person?

I’m not sure if she was cute. I’m not sure if she had Kuato growing out of her stomach (Yes, this is a Total Recall reference. If you haven’t seen the movie, please do yourself a great favor and watch one of Arnold’s best films. DO IT NOW!) I should be willing to shake anybody’s hand and say hello. No matter what benefit their is in there for me.

For all I know she could have been the girl of my dreams. We could have married and grown old selling folk art together (I’m assuming purple hair = selling folk art future). She could have just been a person I met and immediately forgot her name 2 hours later.  The point isn’t what could have happened between us, the point is, what is becoming of me when I won’t even try to meet new people.

Was I sitting there in judgement on this human being? Was I sitting there in judgement on myself? As a Christian, doesn’t this seem wrong in some capacity? Am I letting my introversion take control in social situations? And I just assuming I will never meet anybody of interest unless I already know them?

I’m asking a lot of questions out loud here. I’m not sure what any answers are. I would just like you to see that this little event really got under my skin and will continue to bug me for quite some time.

But at least I finally got his post out of the way and I feel like the barrier has been broken and I can write about another subject and move on.

Since I’ve been strangely personal for once, why don’t we have a very off topic question to round things up? Sound good?

Great.

If you woke up tomorrow and were 4 inches taller, what would be your immediate course of action? Why?

D.A.

3 Responses to “Irked and Purple Hair”


  1. Two words:

    new pants

    because, eww, highwaters . . .

    I wouldn’t worry about Ms. Purple Hair. I’m sure your attitude had less to do with feeling above meeting a new person and more to do with ‘pushing back’ when everyone was telling you what you should do. That seems a pretty normal reaction.

    I, personally, don’t mind considered advice but I hate being told what I ‘should’ do.

  2. ph1ltheee Says:

    An extra 4 inches??? Oh in height…

    Anyway, sometimes taking the leap and talking to complete strangers can lead to great things – I rang a call centre 12 years ago to get my cellphone repaired. An hour later I had arranged a blind date and now been married 10 years!

  3. Frank Bishop Says:

    If i woke up four inches taller…only on a warm day…… it wouldn’t really change much beside my clothes not fitting well. My first action would be rushing out of the door, like I do everyday, to go to work.

    It is great having a blog to release your frustrations.

    I understand your frustration though. I get annoyed when other people think they know better over what I think is best for myself.


Leave a Reply

