Well…It’s Officially Begun

February 8, 2012

I have begun work on what will be my first novel.

Mind you, this is only the very beginning stages of writing this novel. I am going to try and implement some of the strategies I have learned over the last year. So far this is what I’ve done and this is the order in which it has occurred.

1. Come up with an idea. I can’t believe it, but I settled on an idea. It’s taken some time (several months) but at least it’s happened.

This also includes the design of the characters that are going to be running around doing this whole thing.

2. Write a plot “skeleton”. I’m not sure of how else to describe this. I am writing, sort of a time line, that includes all the events that are going to occur in this story. Plot line? Order of Events? I don’t know what to call this. But I have done this.

3. Adding meat onto this skeleton. I am going to build scenes around each of these events (or maybe have multiple events occurs in single scenes. This is where I currently am in terms of getting things done.

I still have to pick locations/minor characters/quirks/arguments/dialogue/small dilemmas for the scenes and the real fun details that would make this whole thing interesting to read. This is probably going to take a lot of time and after I start writing I may not even following these details.

This is one thing I’ve learned. No matter how much you plan, it’s still not writing. You will never be able to plan ever detail to a story before you write it. At least I will get a pretty good idea for where I want to go.

After I pack all this meat onto the skeleton, I will judge if it is a deformed malnourished creature build only to survive in the depths, or if it is a well built and hearty beast that can flourish in the rain forest. Only time will tell.

So, I haven’t been wasting my time completely while I’m not blogging. At least I’ve begun working on one of my life’s biggest goals.

This is just a quick little update to let you know about it. As I progress I will end up actually telling you more about my thought process as I’m going through everything.

D.A.

 

10 Responses to “Well…It’s Officially Begun”


  1. Last week, I begun what will be my first novel too! Best of luck to you. :)


  2. This is going to be a great adventure! And at the end, you’ll have something that didn’t exist before. Best of luck as you forge ahead.


  3. Will you be my critique partner when you’ve got a completed draft?

  4. Frank Bishop Says:

    I suggest picking up Writing to Sell. It talks about plot skeletons, flashbacks, conflicts, and everything. I suggest it more on the front of writing consistent rather than being able to take it to market.

    Good luck with your novel!

  5. geekgirlat40 Says:

    Great and wonderful news!

  6. Shawn Bailey Says:

    Just remember, if you fail, no one will love you, ever.

    Okay, I’m just kidding. I always hear positive feedback on posts like this and just once I wanted to go 90 mph in the other direction, but only for a second. You should definitely start writing it though, outline or not. Write. Write. Write.


Leave a Reply

