I Feel Slightly Guilty

February 10, 2012

Why?

Because I’m going to go see Star Wars Episode I in 3D tonight.

I should say that I am a big Star Wars fan, but my attitudes toward the films have changed a little bit with time. I may have already posted on this topic before, and if so, just skip it and I’ll talk to you again later. But for now… allow me to explain my guilt.

I still love them (episode I is the one movie that I love like I would love a distant cousin). But I have really jumped onto the idea that these movies deserve a good reboot.

That’s blasphemy in geekspeak but just hear me out.

Yes, the movies were great. But they will always be a classic. Why not try changing things up a little?

Let’s get rid of that creepy sexual tension between Luke and Leia in episodes 4 and 5.

Let’s snip out all those ewoks and jar-jars. Let’s look at this great big universe and allow the older movies to be as open as we had wished they were. Let’s get a little more clarification of Darth Vader/Anakin’s motivations. Why not have a little bit more Boba Fett? Why not deepen the relationship between Leia and Han earlier? Why not let Chewie become a really valuable character on film?

Why not more space battles? Why not even cooler lightsaber battles?

In short, let’s just get a little more mature with these movies.

Let George hand over the reins and see what happens. It really couldn’t be much worse that the prequels. (Which I mostly enjoyed).

And this little seed of hope for the series has brought me to tonight. Maybe tonight will be the last time these movies ever touch the big screen. Maybe George will wise up and allow somebody else to give it a chance.

Or maybe this is just the stepping stone before the movies get upgraded again and are redone in super HD quality.

D.A.

4 Responses to “I Feel Slightly Guilty”

  1. draliman Says:

    Jar Jar Binks in three dimensions? Blimey. Let us know how it was! “Roger Roger”!

  2. geekgirlat40 Says:

    Guilty? Because you started on your novel but instead decided to watch a movie? This post is a great bit of writing practice – taking a well-loved and known storyline and figuring out what works and doesn’t work for you – how you’d make it better. Fantastic work!

  3. Snehvide Says:

    Paranoid and shy vixen says Chewie is the best character anyway :)


  4. I actually really like the prequels (okay, not episode one)… episode three has that epic awesomeness on Mustafar, which makes me SO happy. Also, I like that the story has changed in to the tragic fall (and sort of redemption) of a hero. Besides… I always hated the Ewoks. you’d think little girls would love ’em, right? Nope.


Leave a Reply

