Terrible Tuesday

February 28, 2012

So…

I’ve been avoiding this.

The Oscars were awarded Sunday night. I made a few predictions in this post a few weeks ago. I made a few claims about my prowess to pick the winners. Well. I certainly did pick some very highly contested categories.

I checked my picks…

Annnnnnnnnd….I didn’t do so hot. So let’s go ahead and get this out of the way.

Let’s go ahead and look at what I got wrong.

Best Picture: I said Hugo. The real winner: The Artist. 

Best Actor: I said George Clooney. The real winner: Jean Dujardin

Best Actress: I said Viola Davis. The real winner: Meryl Streep

Best Supporting Actress: I said Bérénice Bejo. The real winner: Octavia Spencer

Best Director: I said Martin Scorsese. The real winner: Michel Hazanavicius

Best Writing for Adapted Screenplay: I said Moneyball. The real winner: The Descendants.

Best Writing for Original Screenplay: I said Bridesmaids. The real winner: Midnight in Paris

Best Score (music): I said John Williams. The real winner: Ludovic Bource

Best Foreign Film: I said In Darkness. The real winner: A Separation

Best Visual Effects: I said Rise of the Planet of the Apes. The real winner: Hugo

Now let’s look at what I got right…(By the way, i’m sure almost everybody expected these categories as a given.)

Best Editing: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Best Supporting ActorChristopher Plummer.

Best Animated Film: Rango.

Best Cinematography: Hugo.

Wow….

A real poor showing on my part.

And The Artist? Who even knew?

And how can you possibly snub John “The Big Man” Williams, especially when he was nominated for two awards in the same category for two different movies? And Meryl Streep? Oh come on! I know this is only her  third Oscar, but she’s been nominated 17 times… We all know she’s good. So good that she doesn’t really need an award to prove something.

Better luck next year I suppose?

D.A.

Leave a Reply

