Sunny Sunday

March 4, 2012

It direct contrast to what the title is, I should mention that I was woken up by a storm this morning. I have a metal roof so it is significantly louder than what you might expect. The noise was almost like the sound of thousands of pennies in a cardboard box that are sliding around. Also, the thunder helped to wake me. And the lightning. And the whipping winds that kept the plants outside of my window cry out in pain.

Rarely do I wake up in the middle of storms, but when I do, I usually awake in a panic. Not because I hear plants scream my name in pain, but it just seems like the world is ending. And when it’s 5 a.m. and still dark outside, it’s almost like the earth is just getting the jump start on you. When we sleep we usually expect the weather to sleep as well.

Stupid weather…

:::too-low-to-understand-grumble:::

I always get a little jazzed up because of rainfall. My heart rate increases. Sometimes I start to feel clammy. I usually have a knee jerk reaction to look out a window and inquire what destruction is happening outside. (I also pulled out the old computer and looked at the radar to make sure that there wasn’t some tornado hiding outside of my door.)

But this morning I was super tired, and went right back to sleep despite my increased heart rate and clammyness.

Weird stuff.

***

Changing gears here:

So this is the seventh post I’ve made in a row. Yay for me. This is probably the first time I’ve successfully attempted and completed this little achivement in several months. (I’m guess early Fall or late Summer was the last time).

Why is this an “achievement”?

3 Reasons:

1. I’ve been pretty busy since I got hired in the fall. I’ve always wanted to make sure that I’m writing, but I’ve also grown to enjoy trying to type up something that somebody is going to read later. It’s something I really enjoy and I have felt like I’ve neglected that for a long period of time.

2. My ability to keep up a good pace on this thing may be a sign that I’m officially adjusted to the workload that I have week by week. It’s hard to really adjust to things, and I think I’ve overcome that hurdle. Now I just have to make sure that the work I do isn’t in vein…

3. It’s just hard to write everyday.

One thing I learned over and over again since middle school was the idea of creating or breaking a habit. I was always told it take “at least” 21 days to create a habit. 28 days is reccomended, but 21 can usually create it.

Writing is something that I’ve always wanted to be apart of my daily life. So, now that I have the venue to make this a common occurance I should utilize this as often as possible.

New goal: 1 Post a day throughout the month of March. 

Considering that today is the 4th, I’ve already gotten those days done. So…yay me again. That’s 27 more days for consecutive posts. Aren’t you excited?

What will I write about? I have no idea. What the benefit of doing this? Not totally sure, but it’s a short term goal that I think can be accomplished and may boost my confidence.

2 Responses to “Sunny Sunday”

  1. Frank Bishop Says:

    Metal roof? I’m guessing it is for serious weather in your area?


  2. […] shall now direct you to THIS post from about a month […]


Leave a Reply

