Mittens Does It Again

March 5, 2012

I saw that relative today who just happens to have a blog as well. I’m sure you remember me mentioning her.

Now, she said some things that got me both very interested and a little confused. Maybe you can help me out.

In short, she follows around her husband who is a professional athlete. The blog covers this subject. Since he’s not in a sport that really makes big money, they are living very meager lives. They had talked to each other about how she could start seeing some income due to the traffic on her blog.

1. She mentioned how she didn’t expect to see any money from her blog “for a few years”

This is possible? We can make money doing this?

I know asking this reveals one of two things. It shows that I am really slow on picking up on things considering the number of months I’ve done this, or it shows that she has no idea what she is saying despite her very limited experiences blogging.

During this time period I have never once heard of or noticed anything about people getting paid for their work on their own blogs. There is no advertising…right? Maybe WordPress itself is advertising on the blog…but other than that…nothing. So how can you see money from a blog?

I would even understand that you may be able to work for a blog. One that is large enough and needs many different writers could realistically receive enough traffic to pay some money to their writers. Still, I don’t see any ads anywhere. So where is the revenue coming from?

I personally thought this idea was totally wrong but what do I know? Can you get paid for running your own little blog on WordPress?

Had she been running her own website and allowed for advertising on this website…I could totally understand. But…a WordPress blog? I think not.

The more I think about it…I don’t even remember how giving any real personal information to WordPress. So how on this planet would I get a check?

2. She mentioned how she didn’t want to post “too often” because she only wanted to publish things that were of good quality. 

I think she’s a fine writer. I think that idea makes total sense. She only wants to put out things she can be proud of. What’s wrong with that? That’s an admirable quality.

I’m not a very good writer.* and I post pretty regularly. (I even recently challenged myself to make sure I post every day this month). I don’t think all my posts are crap. I think some are written to be fairly entertaining. But I do think some are a little…tired… at times. But don’t even some people who write blogs for a living end up writing pretty lame posts?

Think about a journalist. Sometimes you get to break the story that the CEO of a major corporation is committing adultery with a circus performer in Russia. Sometimes you tell people about the 3rd annual Cutest Kitten Contest at the local VFW where last year’s champion Mittens did it again. (Mittens IS cute….you can’t deny that…)

So am I the one who is being ignorant or is she?

Once again. I’m not trying to pass judgement on her. I’m really interested in knowing the truth behind these matters. Should I post less? Should I expect a check in the mail one day for blogging services rendered? Should I end up training and grooming kittens for Cutest Kitten Contests around the country?

D.A.

*Edit: I realize that it looks like I’m fishing for compliments but I’m not. It’s a fact that I’m not a good writer.That’s why I made a blog. So I can become a better one. So…don’t get all “Awwww…you’re a good writer.” At least wait until I come up with a solid story at least.

3 Responses to “Mittens Does It Again”


  1. I’m only going to address the writing part of the question. I think you’re doing the right thing by pushing yourself to write regularly. As you say, that’s how a writer gets better–by writing (and by reading good stuff). Post as often as you want; each piece is a step toward greater insight and improved skill. Work toward your own writing goals and write about topics you love, or at least find compelling. The end!


  2. I don’t know much, but I think she’s right. I think it has to do with advertisements, but I know of individuals making $ off their blogs… I just haven’t ever looked into it.

  3. Frank Bishop Says:

    People argue that the ‘money-making-blog-a-thon’ days are over. I’m sure if you are getting several thousand people to your blog a day and you have the Google advertisements, couple cents a click i believe, then you might make something.


Leave a Reply

