Been Writing a Little

March 13, 2012

Actually, it’s very little. But that’s the intention. I’m going to try my hand at a little “flash fiction”.

Why?

Well, why not? It seems like it would be a fun little exercise. Convey much with very little. That’s a concept I really enjoy. So I’m going to take my time with it and see if I can edit it into something that makes sense.

I don’t want it to be more than 300 words. And I think that’s about right.

So why don’t I go ahead a post it instead of talking about it? One simple reason. I’m very tired. I used up the last of my constructive capabilities just coming up with the tiny thing. Now, my brain (which looks more like an old prune you would find under a couch after you lost it there for a few years) is depleted. So I will edit that tiny thing tomorrow and maybe post it then.

That’s fair I think.

As a side note I should mention that I’m getting a little too regimented in how I write. When I write for you on this blog, I write in the first person. When I write a story I write in the third person. I can’t even imagine what it would be like to write a story in the first person. So I’m going to try and write this “flash fiction” in the first person.

We should always push ourselves right? Even if it is in very tiny and seemingly annoying for no reason at all.

As a matter of fact, If you have an example of excellent writing in the first person, point me toward it. I’m very interested in seeing how a master works in that medium.

Beddy Bye,

D.A.

5 Responses to “Been Writing a Little”


  1. Flash fiction is among my most favorite types of fiction to write. Last year I set out to learn to write it, and I think I’ve done just that. I hope you have a blast digging into flash. My favorite part about it is that they generally don’t take too long to write – allowing you to experiment with many different themes, types of characters, POVs, etc. :) I’ll definitely be interested in reading your piece when you post it.

  2. Alba Says:

    Some excellent first-person writing, in my opinion, is the Sherlock Holmes books by sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I have a weak spot for the way books were written back then, the “this is totally true” way.


    • I have to say I’ve never read these. Now I will have to check them out. And yes, I just admitted that I didn’t read what is generally considered a common book to read. Whatever.


Leave a Reply

