I DID IT!!!

March 31, 2012

Silently, but surely, I ended up achieving one of the goals I set up for myself.

I shall now direct you to THIS post from about a month ago.

In it I challenged myself to make one post every day throughout the month of March.

:::Starts dancing:::

And guess who freaking did that with no hiccups?

:::Wiggle wiggle:::

THIS GUY!

:::Strikes pose:::

:::Heavy panting:::

I’m so happy. I actually accomplished something on this place… feels good man…

I didn’t even make a big deal about it while I was trying to meet my goal. (like I do with so many things I usually try to do and fail at)

::::cough:::: lamp

And let’s just look at the good that came from this whole decision.

1. I wrote more in terms of meeting my real goal, writing a novel.

That’s saying a lot right there. And since I’m a science guy, and that means I like data, let me give you some quantitative data right now.

4,514

That’s how many words I put into actual stories throughout this entire month. My efforts to stay consistent with posting made me feel comfortable with writing more often. It also made it a habit again. I’m not sure I have posted this much since last summer when I started this thing. There was a newness back then and I was excited to post all the time.

While I’m not all giddy like I was back then I am still excited to post on here. I feel like this has become more of a creative outlet rather than a run-of-the-mill journal/blog. (Not saying all-run-of-the-mill blogs are bad…)

I should also distinguish that these words were not used to directly contribute to a novel. But they have helped me find my voice in writing more and more, as well as challenge me to stay up to speed on putting new stuff out. I was also about to try different perspectives.

2. I made some more friends. Really. I made strides in reaching my goal of putting a marble on each country on the planet. I now communicate regularly with people who are located thousands of miles away from me. It’s just as awesome as it sounds.

And since we’re on the subject of marbles, check out Lebanon’s newest resident.

This is Dakota. She is in Lebanon doing things people in Lebanon do. Like drinking Pepsi that is written in Arabic. She’s also holding part of the letter that I sent her that has a marble taped to it. She has graciously allowed me to post this and I thank her.

BOOOOOOOOOOOM AGAIN!!!!

Marble. It’s real. In a different country.

:::Single Tear:::

I’m so proud of this little guy…

3. Confidence. I am gaining so much confidence in my writing it’s a little silly. I’ve even been taking up writing prompt challenges from friends. All of you feedback has helped me too. I know I’m not read by many people, but the few of you that comment really do help to encourage me to keep it up. I thank you.

So since my goal is reached does that mean I will stop?

I don’t imagine I will. Actually, I have some plans for other stories and I’m pretty excited to see your reactions to those. I might even expand one of my stories and really make a short novella out of it. This could be awesome practice to writing an entire novel eventually. (Hey, it too might even become a novel.) But nothing is concrete.

And like I mentioned earlier, this is a habit again. It’s going to be a tough one to break.

So I say goodbye to the March of writing development. Hello, April of probable continued  writing development.

D.A.

 

3 Responses to “I DID IT!!!”


  1. Congratulations! It’s all I can do to post once a week. And you’re absolutely right — writing every day helps you find your truest voice. Hey, maybe I should try it too….

  2. draliman Says:

    Nice one! I’m averaging about one every three weeks at the moment which is a bit rubbish. I’ve got to get my blogging mojo back!


Leave a Reply

