Thirsty Thursday #2

May 10, 2012

EDIT: Apparently I tried to set this up to be written some time ago (last week some time.) Then I unexpectedly became very lethargic and have allowed this to post…without anything really written on it… So yeah. Now I look like a lazy fool that just lets his blog post things by itself.

Needless to say, I have altered this draft and it is now in it more final and presentable form. Sorry to blow that one for you. My bad.

Today’s drink? Boylan Bottling Creme Soda.

Enter wonderfully creative and artistic shot of soda here…

You will be certain to see more reviews from this same company. (That’s because I have bought several sodas from this company have have already ingested them…)

So…more cream soda. (Creme in this case).

There is something very smooth about this soda. It has a strong flavor that’s pleasant and not too strong. It’s sweet, but not so sweet that you want to just drink half of it. It’s sweet enough to remind you that you’re still drinking a soda while still allowing the actual vanilla do it’s job.

The smell is a little light. Lighter than I would want.

The biggest downside to this whole thing is the fact that it was pretty flat. I like the carbonation in sodas because it mixes things up and keeps it exciting as you drink it. It’s an active drink. It does stuff. Like make you burp. This did not make me burp. It just kind of relaxed and when down your throat with no questions asked. This made it a little less fun and a little bit more grown up. And maybe I’m not one to have a very serious soda but this struck me as a little plainer than what I would want from a drink.

While you might not like the idea of a drink resisting the back of your throat, I do. I think a soda should be busy in your mouth. It should be just engaging that it makes you want to swallow it just as the novelty wears off.

Overall, I think this drink was tasty, but pales in comparison to Virgil’s. It came flat (which could have just been luck of the draw, sometimes drinks are just flat) which didn’t make me too happy. It was smooth and felt genuine in it’s vanilla flavor, but the drink might have taken itself a little too seriously…if sodas can do that.

Feel free to check out their very pretty website at Boylan Bottling Co. which I am not associated with at all.

D.A.

2 Responses to “Thirsty Thursday #2”

  1. goldfish Says:

    Who’s that next to the Crème Soder? It’s not Edmund Gwenn… (is it?)


    • In fact it is Mr. Gwenn portarying Kris Kringle from Miracle on 34th Street. You have a very keen eye on knowing Mr. Gwenn. Well done.

      There is a very strange story behind that photo…one that couldn’t be told here in this short space. But soon…


Leave a Reply

