Inspiration in Conversation

May 16, 2012

Hallo evrybody. rite now im talkin to u da way peepl text to each other. 

Why would I do such a confounding thing? The theme of course.

Today I bring to you a text conversation I just had with a friend of mine. It will be filled with misspellings and crazy ideas. This is a short hand way to look at how I come up with every single idea for a story I’ve written. This very conversation will hold the idea to my very next story which I hope will be posted on her in the coming days.

The conversation is between me and a buddy of mine. Let’s call him Fred. From time to time he and I will have a conversation like this. He’s a talented writer that can’t come up with ideas…I’m a less talented writer that’s teeming with ideas. Unfortunately for me I let a lot of these ideas go by…but maybe the conversation we had can be entertaining for you to read.

Him: I need writing motivation

Me: Such as…

Me: Hold old are you?

Him: What? No.

Me: Just freaking tell me how old you are…

Him: 27

Me: A 27 year old man moves into a new apartment only to find the previous tenant never left. That tenant? A colony of tiny clowns that live in a bathrobe.

Him: Interesting…

Me: Okay…how about this?

Him: Let’s hear it

Me: A touring musician must face a difficult decision on the road. Does he play the next gig with his cruddy band or join a talented musician at the bus stop?

Him: These are good

Me: A woman who was in a tragic accident wakes up in a hospital bed after 6 months in a coma. Her arms have been replaced with spatulas. And now she wants to cook..

Him: Pooh nice

Him: That’s oooooh

Him: Just watched sun Tzu’s art of war special on the history channel.

Me: Winnie the pooh give up (sic) his addiction to honey and replaces it with a hammering for heroin.

Me: A guy goes to record store. When he can’t pick a new album he asks the clerk for a reccommendation she shares his taste. Her pick is awesome. He invites her to coffee and they start talking and they soon discover they are actually brother and sister.

Him: Okay: the real challenge would be to mash every one of those ideas into a short story

Me: A tribal leader goes on a solo hunt to please the gods and hopefully bring prosperity to his tribe. In his hunt for a bear he comes across somethign much more dangerous…a sabertooth tiger.

Me: I can do this all night…

Me: Do you want something in particular?

Him: Just keep going, I’m seriously going to try to mix them all into something coherent

Me: A former librarian with an empty soul tries to burn down the library…but the library fights back. The leader? An old copy of Fahrenheit 451.

Him: Have you ever read that btw? I have not.

Me: While backpacking across Europe an American meets a Swiss guy with an interesting history. He’s not a person at all but a treefolk that has been given a human form to learn why the trees are dissapearing.

Me: I haave (sic)

Me: A little boy has his dream come true when his LEGO robot gets struck by lightening and begins to fight crime.

Me: A tailor running his shop gets the biggest order of his career. He must design a uniform for the worlds greatest super hero…The Dynamic.

Me: Actually…that last one is mine…don’t touch it.

Him: Ok

Me: Have this one…

Me: The Poopsmith meets the woman of his dreams…Princess Urea.

Me: You’re dreaming welcome by the way…this stuff is gold.

Me: Freaking*

END CONVERSATION

I hope you’ve learned something about me from reading this. If you didn’t here they are in conveniant list form for your benefit.

  1. I’m helpful, but not overly helpful.
  2. I happy with coming up with serious ideas as well and silly ones.
  3. I exude confidence after some very bad propositions.
  4. I routinely ignore comments that are off topic (see his comment about watching the art of war special on history channel.)
  5. I created the phrase “Hammering for heroin”…patent pending. I think I meant to say “Hankering for heroin.”
  6. I quickly recant anything that I see as a benefit to myself.
  7. I ask strange questions to friends even thought I should already know the answer (age)
  8. I type way too much.
  9. The Poopsmith is a reference to one of the funniest things from my high school days Homestar Runner.

And there you go. An entertaining romp inside of my cell phone and the private conversations between me and people I love…

I hope you’re happy with what you made me do here today.

And yes…I’m serious about the super hero tailor story…should be fun.

D.A.

2 Responses to “Inspiration in Conversation”


  1. […] Bookforme, who writes a mountain, and tells us all about the interesting things he or she has come across recently. […]

  2. Mackenzie Says:

    So happy someone else knows who the Poopsmith is! Yay!
    And I wish I had your skill at coming up with ideas. Damn.


Leave a Reply

