Tuesdays Are For…

May 22, 2012

Not working and writing a love letter to YouTube.

Actually, I did go to work, but immediately left due to an illness that was rendering me incapable of being able to hold the attention of some 15 year olds for and hour and a half.

As of now I’m feeling a lot better and I’m certain that I will be returning to work tomorrow.

So…what  did I do to occupy my time while I was out sick?

1. I spent a lot of time in the bathroom. (Yeah, I was that kind of sick…)

2. I slept for another three hours. From the hours of 1:30 to 4:00. I woke up a new man. I recommend sickly naps whenever possible.

3. Listened to a little music.

4. Browsed Reddit.

5. Rediscovered my fascination with YouTube.

Actually, I need to explain this one because I’m pretty sure I’ve never mentioned my love of YouTubes little community they’ve created.

This means I have a habit of falling in love with some particular YouTube videos and then try to watch every known video of said people involved with a particular video. I even find the videos they took in 2007 about their cat’s trip to the vet. It gets a little out of hand.

Why do I do this? I’m mesmerized how some people can create a fun experience for little money and still have thousands or millions of people watch them. It’s what reality T.V. wishes it were. It’s much more real than anything that’s usually put in front of us. Even with people learning about nice cameras and lighting, they still do this for relatively little money. They also manage to be their own content creators.

That’s a freedom I like really like.

I’ll admit this here and now, I have attempted to start a YouTube channel and post videos of silly ideas me and my friends had come up with. We even posted them. They were horrible…but they were fun.

No…you will never see them. Ever.

So instead of rambling on about why I like videos so much, how about I just turn this post into a compilation of my most obsessed over videos from YouTube?

Warning: This is not good.

For all of you who have children, please turn them away. Those with heart conditions you should also steer clear. For those brave enough to press forward, remember, logic and reason have left this post. I’m now going to be irrational in the videos I love. Many of them are just silly and may not seem that funny/interesting to you. Some might even make you cringe with their datedness…if that’s a word…

(I also think this may qualify as a really big guilty pleasure. So…I feel guilty about it…but don’t make me feel any worse than I already do.)

This all really began in 2005/2006 (not long after the creation of YouTube). The first video is of a SNL Digital Short called “Dear Sister.” It was funny to me at the time (still is). Then there were tons of parodies of the same concept and it was remarkable. I think this really set the bar for me because, for whatever reason, the video kept getting pulled from YouTube and that taught me to watch the video tons of times before it’s gone forever.

(If I implant it into my brain, then nobody can remove it. Perfect plan.)

Actually, you can’t even find an official version of the video through NBC or YouTube itself. The only real version I can seem to find is now here…with the service provided by YouTube…

After that came “Old Gregg”, a skit from the comedy troupe The Mighty Boosh. Very weird…very uncomfortable…but that’s what makes it great.

I’M OLD GREEEEEEEEEGGGGGGGGGGGG.

Then came a student created unofficial music video for the the band MGMT and their song “Kids.” It’s done really well and probably cost less than $50 to make. The creator is a guy named Jon Salmon and I think he got some friends to wear some make up and sing along to make a hypnotic video.

Kids.

Then came BalloonShop. This silly trio slapped each other with meat, fruits, vegetables as well as taught us all how to eat an Oreo Cookie Sandwich. They later broke up their working relationship but each of them now tries to do their own thing on YouTube.

This particular video almost made me pee myself the first time I watched it.

Shortly after came me (along with millions of others) falling in love with the auto-tuned masterpieces of Schomoyoho. They’re attention to detail and deep hooks in songs allowed us to see the beauty in the “deep” content of YouTube. Who can forget their classic remixes of “hide yo kids“, “backin-up“, and (my personal favorite) “double rainbow all the way“? Nobody, that’s who.

The music theme stays pretty solid here because I noticed the work of Sweetafton23, otherwise known as Molly Lewis. She sings and plays the ukelele. She’s also a gigantic Doctor Who nerd…so more power to her.

Then came MysteryGuitarMan. He’s a mystery. He’s a guitar playing man. He’s also good at making videos that hold your attention as well as make you wonder how people can stay this creative for this long.

This was followed with my deep love of the musical stylings of a band called Pomplamoose. They’re very talented and their videosongs really set them apart from most other YouTubers at the time. Heck I think they started to trend of VideoSongs.

Rapping is clearly ignored in this list. Well, that was until I found out about Epic Rap Battles of History. They’re both being awesome and funny. It’s a win/win.

Recently I have been drawn to the vlogs of two girls named meekakitty and nanalew. They have their own individual channels but they also collaborate quite often on musical projects. These are really impressive “music videos” that I’m sure aren’t expensive to make  but look amazing.

There are tons of other videos/people that I have obsessed over their work before but I just can’t remember them at the moment.

And yes, I know most of these videos are already popular. They don’t need your views. But I’m only posting them because I have watched them many times myself. (Okay, since most are musical I have just ended up playing them and not watching them but you get my point.)

Anyway…this became a very long love letter about YouTube. Sorry about that. Maybe I’ll make up something exciting for tomorrow. Like a post about bookmarks.

Mmm…bookmarks…(could happen)

D.A.

One Response to “Tuesdays Are For…”

  1. Alba Says:

    It’s the zombie virus, I tell you…


Leave a Reply

