Not Sure…

September 18, 2012

As a teacher I get a small opportunity to peer into the lives of my students. I get to see those qualities that make them special. I’m sure there are some kids out there that I get to see the angelic side of. I’ve probably seen a few acts of kindness in the classroom that could make a patron saint give a tear of joy. 

I’ve also had the opportunity to see the…other side…of some students. It’s just a fact of the profession. Some kids are tough to get along with. Okay, that’s an understatement. Some kids make me want to rip out my eyebrows and move into some cave in Nevada while following a new religion that consists of knocking myself unconscious with a claw hammer and drinking pickle juice to survive. 

One of my mistakes I make while I’m teaching is that I sometimes feel like I’m the only one experiencing these problems. I’m the only teacher on campus that these kids don’t work well with. I wonder if these misbehaving students means I’m a bad teacher. I start to question the small amount of confidence I have in the classroom. 

Today I was reminded that I’m not alone. Other teachers get frustrated with the same kids. They get referrals from other teachers, so I shouldn’t feel bad if I have to write one from time to time. Sometimes it’s not my fault that a kid decides to make those decisions that make us have to punish them. 

I also realize that I sometimes kids that make bad decisions consistently will continue to make those decisions whether they’re in my class or not. 

That’s why we sometimes have to have to police show up to school to remind students that those decisions have “real world” consequences. 

It’s a shame that’s what it comes to sometimes. 

Don’t worry, I didn’t send a kid to jail today. I was just simply reminded that things like that happen. 

Also, I learned that I forget about clothes in the dryer too often. 

Food for thought I suppose. 

D.A.

 

Leave a Reply

