Distractions

April 25, 2013

One of my biggest distractions has been my reawakening of my love of guitar. I used to play primarily the bass guitar, but since I’m not in a band anymore, it’s sort of hard to keep myself entertained with just that. So I decided to play acoustic guitar a little more often, and quickly found myself obsessed with the idea of finally becoming the owner of an electric guitar.

After 11 years, I finally did it.

Say hello to the newest member of my family.

my newest addition

my newest addition

It’s an Fender American Special Stratocaster and I think it’s puuurty. I also believe you owe me a round of applause because I’m only posting the one photo. You could have gotten a very long album that featured a really creepy amount of photos with an inanimate object.

Want to know more about it? OF COURSE YOU DO! WHO WOULDN’T WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT THIS THING?

It’s an easy guitar to play. The radius on the neck is perfect for my tiny hands and helps me bend strings without any effort at all. (This is something new to me because my acoustic guitar was just a turd to try to bend with).

WANT ME TO BLAB ON FURTHER?!

It also sounds fantastic. It came with Texas Specials inside and “upgraded pots” which allow me to enjoy fiddling with those knobs and it doesn’t lose anything.

MORE THINGS!

It even comes with a groovy 7o’s style headstock. Looking at it makes me feel like I’m back on the road touring with The Who and Led Zeppelin.

I AIN’T EVEN DONE!

The finish is spiffy as well. A natural wood look with a sunburst feel. Not too dark, not too light. Just a golden honey appearance makes you feel like they grabbed a honeycomb and just buffed it for a couple of hours.

Am I sounding like a advertisement for Fender guitars? I hope so! I really hope they decide to reward my loyalty by giving me a Telecaster…free of charge. (I’d take it in a natural tone, much like this. Not begging, just asking….)

So what has this guitar done for me? It helped me write my second song….ever.

Yeah, so what…

And it has fed the obsession with looking at guitars as beautiful and artful things. Which only makes me want more and different ones.

Now I just need a decent amp…

Jealous? Thought so…

Now I’ve got crap to grade/not grade.

D.A.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Distractions”

  1. Alba Says:

    I told you you should buy it!

  2. goldfish Says:

    puuurty. I always wanted to learn guitar, but since I have zero musical ability, it’s probably for the best that I don’t.


Leave a Reply

